search

5 Ideas for a Gluten Free Thanksgiving Menu

Date:10-11-2013 11:40:22 read:2
Category:Fashion-->Idea

While most of you must be thinking that it is practically impossible to make a gluten-free typical Thanksgiving meal, the fact is that you can really do it. The trick is only to know what ingredients add the gluten and to get the proper substitute for them without ruining the taste. So, here are 5 ways to bring small changes to your Thanksgiving menu and have a gluten-free dinner.

1. Get a gluten-free turkey

While a fresh or frozen turkey is usually gluten-free, the basting solutions that are used for processing the turkey may change that. Additionally, all the gravy packets which come along with most of such turkey are loaded with gluten. Since that is known, there are also several companies which sell gluten-free turkey and associated products. Hence, always read the labels before making your purchase. Some companies that sell gluten-free turkey are Empire Kosher Brand Gluten-Free Turkey Products, Honeysuckle White Gluten-Free Turkey, Jenny-O Brand Gluten-Free Turkey Products, and Butterball Gluten-Free Turkey Products among others.

2. Use gluten-free bread for stuffing

One may feel that a traditional stuffing cannot be made gluten-free. However, in reality there are plenty of gluten-free options. These recipes can be both traditional bread stuffing to lesser traditional cornbread and wild rice stuffing. If you home make your own bread, that is fine, but if not, you can use bread crumbs from any gluten-free bread. There are also readymade gluten-free bread cubes for stuffing which are available in the market.

3. Mash potatoes

There is hardly any reason for your mashed potatoes to contain gluten. There are several gluten-free readymade options available in the market, or you could make it yourself at home. Skin and boil the potatoes, and add some milk and butter. Now, whip them in a mixer and you are good to go!

4. Prepare the gravy at home

First and foremost, do not use the gravy mix packets that come with most turkey brands. It is highly probably that they contain gluten. Now, most of you must be used to making your gravy with turkey pan drippings and wheat flour. All you need to do is substitute wheat flour with corn starch and you will have an amazing and tasty gluten-free gravy.

5. Buy gluten-free crust for the pumpkin pie

The filling in a pumpkin pie is usually gluten-free, so you don’t have to worry about that. You can go ahead and use your favorite one. What you need to be more careful about is the crust. There are certain brands which do sell pre-made and frozen gluten-free crust, such as Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin.

    <
    Ever For Health Copy Rights 2013